Home > Timber Frame Home > Can you fast track my project?

Can you fast track my project?

Maybe?

Some timber frame projects lend themselves to a fast track, some do not.  And fast tracking the one that does not is a tough process.

Let’s see…

Client:  I would like to fast track my project, can you work with me?

Sandy: Of course!  Do you have a design?

Client: Not yet.

Sandy:  Have you chosen an architect?

Client: Uh, no.

Sandy:  Have you hired a general contractor?

Client: I’m going to GC this project myself.

Sandy:  I’m thinking fast track may not be in the cards for this project, but let’s see what we can do.  Preliminary shops drawings and a foundation plan are typically all you need for a building permit.  Let’s start there.

Client:  Sounds good and thank you.

In a situation like this, where we work out the timber frame design initially with the client,  we then recommend an architectural/engineering firm to design the foundation plan under our frame.  Not usually a good option for a fast track.  Once permit is in place, then the real fun can begin!

  1. October 15, 2012 at 4:18 pm

    This design is incredible! You most certainly know how to
    keep a reader amused. Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well,
    almost…HaHa!) Great job. I really enjoyed what you
    had to say, and more than that, how you
    presented it. Too cool!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

